Paul Martin jr

Paul Martin jr. 1938-   Martin was Canada’s twenty-first prime minister, serving between 2003 and 2006. As Minister of Finance in the 1990s, he erased Canada’s deficit which at the time was the worst among G7 countries.   Paul Martin … Read More

John Napier Turner

1929-2020 First elected to Parliament in 1962, Turner was Finance Minister under Trudeau before resigning in 1975. After a career on Bay St., he became leader of the Liberal Party in 1984 and Canada’s seventeenth Prime Minister before losing the … Read More

Pierre Elliott Trudeau

Pierre Elliott Trudeau 1919-2000 Trudeau served as Canada’s fifteenth prime minister, governing for 15 years with one short interlude between 1968 and 1984. A charismatic and controversial leader, he is remembered for patriating the Canadian constitution, instituting a Charter of … Read More

Lester Bowles Pearson

Lester Bowles Pearson 1897-1972   Pearson was Prime Minister from 1963 to 1968. His government introduced a new Canadian flag, universal medicare and the Canada Pension Plan. In 1957, as Secretary of State for External Affairs, Pearson won the Nobel … Read More

John George Diefenbaker

John George Diefenbaker 1895-1979   Prime Minister from 1957 to 1963, Diefenbaker championed human rights, granting the vote to Aboriginal people in federal elections and introducing the Canadian Bill of Rights, forerunner to the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. … Read More

William Lyon Mackenzie King

William Lyon Mackenzie King 1874-1950   First elected to Parliament in 1908, Mackenzie King was Canada’s longest serving prime minister, being in office nearly 22 years (1921-26; 1926-30; 1935-48), including the difficult years of the Second World War. King initiated … Read More

Sir Robert Borden

Sir Robert Borden 1854-1937   Borden was prime minister between 1911 and 1920 and successfully garnered international recognition of Canada as an autonomous dominion. He formed a Union Government to lead Canada during the final difficult years of the First … Read More

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir Wilfrid Laurier 1841-1919 Laurier was the first French-Canadian prime minister serving from 1896 to 1911.  He championed national unity, promoted the construction of the Grand Trunk Railway, created the provinces of Alberta and Saskatchewan and supported the settlement of … Read More

Sir Charles Tupper

Sir Charles Tupper 1821-1915   A former premier of Nova Scotia and Father of Confederation, Tupper held several important portfolios in Sir John A. Macdonald’s cabinets, including as Minister of Railways between 1879 and 1884 when the Canadian Pacific Railway … Read More

Sir John A. Macdonald

Sir John A. Macdonald 1815-1891  Macdonald was Canada’s first prime minister, serving from 1867 to 1873 and from 1878 to 1891. The Conservative governments he led expanded Confederation by admitting three new provinces (Manitoba, British Columbia and Prince Edward Island), … Read More